Page 1 of 1

Float Switch Connected To Expansion Relay

Posted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:44 pm
by WIReefer83
Hello - I would like to incorporate a float switch into my setup, but it's needed close by the expansion relay. When I hook it up to the expansion relay, it's not recognized by RA (not showing on RA screen, iOS app, portal, code below not working). I only see the 2 ATO ports that are on the RA unit.

As far as the code itself, I would like to prevent my heater from running if my saltwater Brute is not full. So, I have the float mounted at the top of the Brute with the wires coming out of the top of the float switch. Here is the code I was going to test:

//Turn Off Brute Heater If Water Level Is Low (Box2_Port5 is the heater)
if (ReefAngel.LowATO.IsActive() && ReefAngel.Relay.Status(Box2_Port5)) ReefAngel.Relay.Off(Box2_Port5);

Any suggestions on how to reference the float switch from the expansion relay box? Also, does the code above look right?

Thanks!

Re: Float Switch Connected To Expansion Relay

Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 3:56 am
by cosmith71
Those aren't float switch ports, they are dimming ports (inactive on expansion relay boxes). You'll need to run the float switch from the head unit.

As for the code, something like this should work:

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.Relay.Set(Box2_Port5,ReefAngel.LowATO.IsActive());
If that works backwards, then do this:

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.Relay.Set(Box2_Port5,!ReefAngel.LowATO.IsActive());
--Colin

Re: Float Switch Connected To Expansion Relay

Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 6:46 am
by WIReefer83
Ah! That would explain it. Can I extend the float switch wires? I need it to run about 15'-20' from the head unit.

Thanks!

Re: Float Switch Connected To Expansion Relay

Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 7:20 am
by cosmith71
I'm pretty sure you could. It won't hurt anything to try!

Re: Float Switch Connected To Expansion Relay

Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 9:41 am
by lnevo
Should be fine

Re: Float Switch Connected To Expansion Relay

Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 1:15 pm
by WIReefer83
Thanks everyone. Extending the wires and the code above worked perfectly.

Re: Float Switch Connected To Expansion Relay

Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 1:48 pm
by cosmith71
Awesome!