Connect Star to Cloud via Web Wizard

Do you have a question on how to do something.
Ask in here.

Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 12:41 pm
Location: Lincoln Park, Chicago, IL, USA 60614
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 10:11 am
I have been unsuccessful at getting my Reef Angel Star to connect to the cloud via the web wizard.

I had an existing INO file that I had been uploading via Visual Studio Code. Copied that to the web wizard.

Ran the wizard separately to generate the hash code and then copied and pasted the comments to the bottom of my existing INO file.

Everything compiles fine and even uploads remotely as expected. However, I can't access the cloud data via UApp.

Am I unable to copy and paste the hash code comment into my existing INO for some reason? Is that the problem?

Thanks,
-Steve

Posts: 12643
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 10:12 am
Correct.
You have to manually edit the file RA_CustomSettings.h
Roberto.

Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 12:41 pm
Location: Lincoln Park, Chicago, IL, USA 60614
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 10:15 am
But I can't do that on the web wizard, which means no remote upload. Do I need to generate a nearly blank INO via the wizard and copy and paste my custom code between the comments?

Posts: 12643
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 10:46 am
I misunderstood your statement.
I thought you were still trying to upload through VS.
You should be able to just copy/paste the hash.
Does the unit show you are connected to cloud on the status screen?
Roberto.

Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 9:00 pm
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 10:50 am
Shows as disconnected from the screen.

I just tried generating a minimal INO from the wizard, and it still won't connect.

Any chance there's a password length limit? My password is 20 characters long.

Posts: 12643
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 10:53 am
But is it getting an ip address?
But not connecting to the cloud?
Roberto.

Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 9:00 pm
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 10:57 am
Not sure what you mean by "getting an IP address." But yes, the unit is connected correctly to the network. I have opened up its port on my router and can receive updates via built-in web server from outside my network, including via the UApp. It's just the could that's not working.

Posts: 12643
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 12:27 pm
Have you ever gotten it connected before?
If you are trying on this username, you may need to update your password because the cloud server was introduced way after your profile was created and I can't de-hash your password.
By setting a new password, it updates both the forum and the cloud server hashes.
Roberto.

Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 9:00 pm
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 12:33 pm
I have never been able to connect the Star to the cloud, no. Just using the pull method via the built-in web server.

I am using a different account for the Star (sbidny0_ since I already use this account (sbidny) for my current Reef Angel Plus. Just created that new account (sbidny0).

BTW, every time I create a hash, it's different. Is that expected?

Posts: 12643
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 12:41 pm
Looking at the code, I can see the problem now.....
I have this:
Code: Select all
      char username[16];
      char password[16];
      strcpy_P(username, CLOUD_USERNAME);
      strcpy_P(password, CLOUD_PASSWORD);

https://github.com/reefangel/Libraries/ ... 0.cpp#L314
Which means, there is a limitation on the length of the password. :(
Roberto.
Next

Return to How do I code ...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron