Page 1 of 1
More temp probes code
Posted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 12:55 pm
by Lionfan
So, I bought a few extra temp probes.
What all do I need to do to be able to see their parameters in either the screen, or the U-app?
And as far as joining them together; I basically just need to splice one probe into the wire of another, correct?
being that each is serialized.
Re: More temp probes code
Posted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 3:55 pm
by binder
how many probes do you have now? the controller supports 3 probes natively without any splicing.
Sent from my iPad mini
Re: More temp probes code
Posted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 6:11 pm
by Lionfan
binder wrote:how many probes do you have now? the controller supports 3 probes natively without any splicing.
Sent from my iPad mini
5 is what's planned
Re: More temp probes code
Posted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 9:32 pm
by rimai
Yeah, splice them in parallel to each other and add this to your code:
Re: More temp probes code
Posted: Fri Aug 14, 2015 12:26 pm
by Lionfan
rimai wrote:Yeah, splice them in parallel to each other and add this to your code:
We haven't found a way to look at them in the portal, correct?
Re: More temp probes code
Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2015 12:16 pm
by jsclownfish
I found these online which should make it easy...
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000E9 ... ge_o00_s00
-Jon
Re: More temp probes code
Posted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 12:15 pm
by Lionfan
cool. But how do we see the temp of the other probes?
Re: More temp probes code
Posted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 1:13 pm
by jsclownfish
It depends on how you want to 'see' the temperature from the extra probes. Some options are on the LCD as a custom screen, on the portal as a custom variable, and or from internal memory as a wifi request.
-Jon
Re: More temp probes
Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 12:35 am
by tkeracer619
Re: More temp probes code
Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 12:36 am
by tkeracer619
I ordered one of these, will try to modify it to work. Hopefully it doesn't have too much circuitry.
Roberto, I can't find the post talking about using a resistor in the circuit when using a bunch of temp probes. If I am able to turn this hub into just a passive hub what type of resistor should I use and where would I place it?
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product. ... lsrc=aw.ds
Re: More temp probes code
Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 5:13 pm
by Loose
I have a RA* controller I've also added an additional temp probe to my system and found two ways to add it in code.
I found this first:
ReefAngel.Params.Temp[T4_PROBE]; <--- didn't notice a change
And then in this thread:
ReefAngel.AddExtraTempProbes(); <--- displays temp 4, 5, & 6 to the LCD and Uapp
Two questions:
1) What does ReefAngel.Params.Temp[T4_PROBE]; do?
2) Can the number of temps displayed be limited? Having only 4 temp probes for now, I'd like to not have Temp 5 and Temp 6 displayed.
Re: More temp probes code
Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 5:17 pm
by rimai
No

Either 3 or 6.
Re: More temp probes code
Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 5:21 pm
by Loose
Thanks for the quick reply. NP.