ATO measurement?

Basic / Standard Reef Angel hardware
Post Reply
Thavngr98
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 6:47 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

ATO measurement?

Post by Thavngr98 »

Is there a way to get the output or raw data that I can graph that will tell me how often my ATO is turned on in a 24 hour period.
-Dave

Image
rimai
Posts: 12857
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: ATO measurement?

Post by rimai »

You would need to connect to RA using the USB-TTL cable.
Is it ok?
Roberto.
Thavngr98
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 6:47 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: ATO measurement?

Post by Thavngr98 »

yeah it works great. Im just going to start dosing Kalk and wanted to know what my ATO output was. Is there any distance/power limits if I extend the USB-TTL cable? My computer is about 15 feet away. Normally I know that would not be an issue.
-Dave

Image
rimai
Posts: 12857
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: ATO measurement?

Post by rimai »

I have 15feet from mine myself and had issues with the computer not seeing the cable with standard extension, so I had to get one of those active usb extension cables.
Then add this to your code:

Code: Select all

  static boolean lastlowato=false;
  static boolean lasthighato=false;
  if (ReefAngel.LowATO.IsActive()!=lastlowato)
  {
    lastlowato=ReefAngel.LowATO.IsActive();
    Serial.print(now());
    Serial.print("-Low ATO:");
    Serial.println(lastlowato);
  }
  if (ReefAngel.HighATO.IsActive()!=lasthighato)
  {
    lasthighato=ReefAngel.HighATO.IsActive();
    Serial.print(now());
    Serial.print("-High ATO:");
    Serial.println(lasthighato);
  }
On Arduino, open Serial Monitor on menu Tools->Serial Monitor and make sure it is set to 57600 baud.
It will start logging float switch changes.
The date is unix time.
Roberto.
Thavngr98
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 6:47 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: ATO measurement?

Post by Thavngr98 »

Thank Roberto Ill look into this. I just realized though that I could not leave this setup connect as my WiFi is already connected to the TTL connection. Are there any options to have both connected?
-Dave

Image
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5422
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: ATO measurement?

Post by lnevo »

Can't you use the status graph to see the relay status on your ATO pump?
Thavngr98
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 6:47 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

ATO measurement?

Post by Thavngr98 »

No it doesn't give a numerical measurement.
-Dave

Image
rimai
Posts: 12857
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: ATO measurement?

Post by rimai »

Humm...
only if you have your own server and want to redirect all traffic from wifi to your server.
Roberto.
Thavngr98
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 6:47 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

ATO measurement?

Post by Thavngr98 »

Hmm may have a old sunstation kicking around the office. Let me see what I can get.
-Dave

Image
00Warpig00
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 9:52 pm

Re: ATO measurement?

Post by 00Warpig00 »

I was curious about this myself. Although the Portal is great. What if for any reason it is not available in future years. Is there a way to log data from my controller to my own database? If so how would one accomplish this? I realize the intent is probably to support the Reef Angel forever, but what if for some reason this doesn't happen? Could deem much of the features of our investment as unusable. Would love to have all the graphs and my own data available to me on my own resources. Is this what the Client does? I admit i have not played with it yet. Still trying to get everything working. :)

Nick
180G FOWLR
20GH QT#1
29G QT#2

Image
rimai
Posts: 12857
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: ATO measurement?

Post by rimai »

Yes, the Client also does pull parameters and stores in a local database.
You can either implement a pull method, like the Client, but the problem is that you may miss events as you will be querying the controller for events.
Or you can push from controller to your computer or server for every event that you wish.
Up to you :)
Roberto.
00Warpig00
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 9:52 pm

Re: ATO measurement?

Post by 00Warpig00 »

Short of being a DBA or a programmer how hard would this be to implement? Unfortunately my IT experience is in the hardware and config realm than in the dba/programming realm. I myself would prefer the push from controller to server method so if anything occurs it is logged. I was looking at the portal last night and was thinking how nice it would be if my IO module data could be logged there and this got me to thinking of the fact that we are seriously dependent on the portal. It would also be great to have data logged back for a greater timeframe. Is anyone with the know how working on a personal logging database that anyone knows of?

Nick
180G FOWLR
20GH QT#1
29G QT#2

Image
binder
Posts: 2865
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: ATO measurement?

Post by binder »

00Warpig00 wrote:Short of being a DBA or a programmer how hard would this be to implement? Unfortunately my IT experience is in the hardware and config realm than in the dba/programming realm. I myself would prefer the push from controller to server method so if anything occurs it is logged. I was looking at the portal last night and was thinking how nice it would be if my IO module data could be logged there and this got me to thinking of the fact that we are seriously dependent on the portal. It would also be great to have data logged back for a greater timeframe. Is anyone with the know how working on a personal logging database that anyone knows of?

Nick
it shouldn't be too tough to do. You would just need to create a script that reads the parameters and stores the data. it's like the old school html form submission where the values are in the url. that is most likely what roberto does.
Post Reply