Red Sea Max 500

New members questions
modulok
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:37 am

Re: Red Sea Max 500

Post by modulok »

I just noticed that the moonlights are still on at 10:30am. Without specifying the minute, I changed it to this: if (hour()>=22 || hour()<=9) // Turn Moonlights on/off
rimai wrote:Use this:

Code: Select all

  if (hour()>=22 || hour()<=10) // Turn Moonlights on/off
  {
    ReefAngel.PWM.SetActinic(MoonPhase());
    ReefAngel.PWM.SetDaylight(MoonPhase());
  }
  else
  {
    ReefAngel.PWM.SetActinic(0);
    ReefAngel.PWM.SetDaylight(0);
  }
Image
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Red Sea Max 500

Post by lnevo »

You could say hour()<10 also if you wanted it to read closer to your preference..either way same result.
modulok
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:37 am

Re: Red Sea Max 500

Post by modulok »

Yeah, that looks better. Thanks
Image
modulok
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:37 am

Re: Red Sea Max 500

Post by modulok »

Is there a way to detect which moonphase is active? I would like to switch on my stock (non dimmable) LEDs on when the moonphase is Full Moon.
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Red Sea Max 500

Post by rimai »

MoonPhase() returns a value from 0 to 100.
You can do whatever you want with that value.
100 means full moon.
Roberto.
modulok
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:37 am

Re: Red Sea Max 500

Post by modulok »

Here is my current Stock LED setup

Code: Select all

if (hour()<11) ReefAngel.StandardLights( Box1_Port4,8,0,11,0 ); //RSMLED Morning 8a-11a
else ReefAngel.StandardLights( Box1_Port4,19,0,22,0 ); //RSMLED Evening 7p-10p
Here is the line I added.

Code: Select all

if (MoonPhase())>=100) ReefAngel.StandardLights( Box1_Port4,22,0,8,0 ); //RSMLED on for Full Moon
My Head Unit currently says Full Moon for MoonPhaseLabel(), and 69% for ReefAngel.PWM.GetActinicValue() reading. Not sure how I address the MoonPhase() current value.
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Red Sea Max 500

Post by rimai »

Try this:

Code: Select all

if (MoonPhase())>50) ReefAngel.StandardLights( Box1_Port4,22,0,8,0 ); //RSMLED on for Full Moon
Roberto.
modulok
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:37 am

Re: Red Sea Max 500

Post by modulok »

Yeah I did try a lower value and it didn't help.

Sent from my SGH-I777 using Tapatalk 2
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Red Sea Max 500

Post by rimai »

It will only turn on between 10pm and 8am
Roberto.
modulok
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:37 am

Re: Red Sea Max 500

Post by modulok »

While testing I modified the hours so it would work.

Sent from my SGH-I777 using Tapatalk 2
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Red Sea Max 500

Post by rimai »

Make sure you are not using Box1_Port4 anywhere else in the code
Roberto.
modulok
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:37 am

Re: Red Sea Max 500

Post by modulok »

I've got the MoonPhase line working now with the other 2 lines commented out. Now the PWM is 73%, so I guess in a few nights it will be at 100%? (This will be my first full moon with the controller setup, so I am assuming that's the case.)

Well I would still like to keep the Morning and Evening schedule. Would I need an if / else if / else to have all three lines work?

Code: Select all

if (MoonPhase()>=90) ReefAngel.StandardLights( Box1_Port4,22,0,11,0 ); //RSMLED on for Full Moon
else if (hour()<11) ReefAngel.StandardLights( Box1_Port4,8,0,11,0 ); //RSMLED Morning 8a-11a
else ReefAngel.StandardLights( Box1_Port4,19,0,22,0 ); //RSMLED Evening 7p-10p
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Red Sea Max 500

Post by rimai »

So, you want the morning/evening schedule everyday and also moonlights when moon>90?
If so, try this:

Code: Select all

if (hour()>=8 && hour()<11) ReefAngel.StandardLights( Box1_Port4,8,0,11,0 ); //RSMLED Morning 8a-11a
else if(hour()>=19 && hour()<22) ReefAngel.StandardLights( Box1_Port4,19,0,22,0 ); //RSMLED Evening 7p-10p
else if(hour()>=22 || hour()<8) if (MoonPhase()>=90) ReefAngel.StandardLights( Box1_Port4,22,0,11,0 ); //RSMLED on for Full Moon
Roberto.
modulok
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:37 am

Re: Red Sea Max 500

Post by modulok »

ok, great I will test to see if its working properly tonight.
Image
modulok
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:37 am

Re: Red Sea Max 500

Post by modulok »

I changed the MoonPhase amount to 76 and tested it...Seemed to work last night and it's off today.

I am a bit confused though. This morning was the full moon, wouldn't the MoonPhase be 100 at that time?

Edit:
I just tested the overheat function. It worked, ports turned off like they should. But when the temperature went below the overheat temp the ports were not reactivated. Is the manual clear overheat our only option? Or is there a function to reactivate the ports?
Image
modulok
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:37 am

Re: Red Sea Max 500

Post by modulok »

Ok now moon phase is 72%. So yesterday was the first at 76%.

Sent from my SGH-I777 using Tapatalk 2
Image
modulok
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:37 am

Re: Red Sea Max 500

Post by modulok »

Are there any negative effects to splicing two dimmable moon lights together? I think one more would give me better coverage.

Sent from my SGH-I777 using Tapatalk 2
Image
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Red Sea Max 500

Post by lnevo »

I dont think the pwm ports have enough power to drive more than one moonlight module. Roberto can elaborate, but i think you'll need the dimming module to use more.
modulok
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:37 am

Re: Red Sea Max 500

Post by modulok »

And nothing can be done with the two PWM ports on the 2nd relay? There isn't a way to set those to moonphase too?
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Red Sea Max 500

Post by rimai »

Correct.... Only one RA dimmable moonlight can be plugged into the dimming port without some sort of booster.
The 2nd relay box is non-controllable and non-dimmable.
I'm designing a dimmable moonlight module, where you will be able to connect up to 4 dimmable moonlighs and use just a single port. Not yet prototyped... I'm waiting on the PCBs to get here and test it.
Roberto.
modulok
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:37 am

Re: Red Sea Max 500

Post by modulok »

How come only the main relay can be controlled and dimmed?

Why can't they be addressed in some way? Just doesn't make sense to me that they are rendered useless (except at 100% brightness).
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Red Sea Max 500

Post by rimai »

PWM is controlled by the head unit and not by the relay box.
The signals pass through the svga cable to the main relay box, but do not travel through the expansion bus.
The expansion bus is a 4 wire cable (USB), which can only carry VCC, GND, SDA and SCL signals to the expansion modules.
If you wish more dimming channels, there is the dimming expansion module that would give you an additional 6 channels.
Roberto.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Red Sea Max 500

Post by rimai »

Each dimmable channel booster is capable of driving 40mA.
The spec of the dimmable moonlight is 25mA at 12VDC, but shouldn't be that much at a lower 10VDC of the dimming channel.
Putting 2 in each channel would probably max out that channel. You may still be able to drive 2 in each channel though, but that I never tried and you would need to test and make sure you don't drive more than 40mA or you will burn up the booster.
Roberto.
modulok
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:37 am

Re: Red Sea Max 500

Post by modulok »

Thanks for the detailed info on the PWM.
Image
modulok
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:37 am

Re: Red Sea Max 500

Post by modulok »

The RSM moonlights were not shutting off. I had to add an = to the last hour value and it seems to have worked.

Also what about this?
modulok wrote:I just tested the overheat function. It worked, ports turned off like they should. But when the temperature went below the overheat temp the ports were not reactivated. Is the manual clear overheat our only option? Or is there a function to reactivate the ports?
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Red Sea Max 500

Post by rimai »

Overheat and ATO are 2 flags that requires attention from the user....
I would not want it to turn itself back on after an overheat situation.
You shouldn't have an overheat unless there is something wrong and if there is something wrong, wouldn't you want to personally see what is wrong?
You can reset them with the android app or web browser though.
Roberto.
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Red Sea Max 500

Post by lnevo »

Whats the method to clear from browser?
binder
Posts: 2871
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: Red Sea Max 500

Post by binder »

lnevo wrote:Whats the method to clear from browser?
ATO Clear:

Code: Select all

http://IP:PORT/mt
Overheat Clear:

Code: Select all

http://IP:PORT/mo
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Red Sea Max 500

Post by lnevo »

Cool then i can remove my mem trigger based method :)
binder
Posts: 2871
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: Red Sea Max 500

Post by binder »

lnevo wrote:Cool then i can remove my mem trigger based method :)
Awesome. The android app can clear it for you if you want. It's under the Commands page.
Post Reply