Android Reef Angel Status

Community contributed apps
binder
Posts: 2865
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: Android Reef Angel Status

Post by binder »

rimai wrote:Awesome!!!
Can we have it update the display without querying the controller?
If OK is received, you change the display. If ERR is received, you leave it alone.
What do you think about this option?
I thought about that option as well. This could be done easily. The "only" drawback is that if you exited the application (or when to the preferences page or wherever) and then you reopened the application before the controller was re-queried, the old values would be displayed. I know I could modify the data stored in the database but I'm not big on changing the stored values at all because they wouldn't be "accurate" for that update time.

With the information that I just mentioned, would you still want the values updated on the screen? So it would be like my Option 2 but also having the values changed on the screen.

And what did you think about how to activate the popup? Long press the label or value?
rimai
Posts: 12857
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Android Reef Angel Status

Post by rimai »

Ahh.. Got it...
It grabs from storage.. Makes sense.
What if you somehow had a "Please refresh to update screen" or something like this showing up on the screen if "OK" is received?
Roberto.
binder
Posts: 2865
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: Android Reef Angel Status

Post by binder »

rimai wrote:Ahh.. Got it...
It grabs from storage.. Makes sense.
What if you somehow had a "Please refresh to update screen" or something like this showing up on the screen if "OK" is received?
Yeah, I like that idea. That's what I'll do.

Now, is long pressing on the values ok to display the popup box or the pressing the labels?
rimai
Posts: 12857
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Android Reef Angel Status

Post by rimai »

I think values would be better
Roberto.
binder
Posts: 2865
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: Android Reef Angel Status

Post by binder »

rimai wrote:I think values would be better
Ok cool. That's how I've got it coded right now. I just wanted to make sure.
Now I just have to code these minor changes and then finish up the notification alerts and I'll be ready for a release. Hopefully something within the next week or 2.
binder
Posts: 2865
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: Android Reef Angel Status

Post by binder »

Ok. This is what I'm going to do. If an error occurs, you will get your standard error notification and a popup on the screen to say "ERR".
If it was successful, you will see this in the status bar: "Refresh to update screen"
There will not be a popup saying "ok", the only popup will be for an error (if ERR is returned).
Refresh to update
Refresh to update
refresh_screen.png (45.31 KiB) Viewed 6482 times
mluz
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 11:38 am

Re: Android Reef Angel Status

Post by mluz »

Can someone help out a newbie.

Got my controller today, I was able to get to connect to the portal via WiFi.

I can't connect using the app, I keep getting an error, invalid host, what am I doing wrong?? This is my server http://71.125.xxx.xxx:2000

Sent from my Inspire 4G using Tapatalk 2
Image
dbmet
Posts: 235
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 11:49 am

Android Reef Angel Status

Post by dbmet »

Are you connected to your homes wifi ? Or your mobile providers network? Is port 2000 forwarding turned on in your router?
Image
mluz
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 11:38 am

Re: Android Reef Angel Status

Post by mluz »

dbmet wrote:Are you connected to your homes wifi ? Or your mobile providers network? Is port 2000 forwarding turned on in your router?
I was trying to connect with my providers network.

I'm at work today and the Ra client works perfectly, just can't log in using my android app.
Image
dbmet
Posts: 235
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 11:49 am

Android Reef Angel Status

Post by dbmet »

Is the IP address you posted above the IP address of your wifi module or your IP address of your home router?
Image
Meshmez
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 2:44 pm

Re: Android Reef Angel Status

Post by Meshmez »

I had been using the older version of the android app (sorry I don't know what version but it was before the logo change) with no problems. When i updated to the newest version all of a sudden my manual relay overrides will randomly reset. I havent figured out if it does it after a set amount of time or if it is truly random. I havent reprogrammed my controller since well before the app update, and i dont believe im losing power to my controller (i know losing power resets the manual overrides). Is there a setting somewhere in the android app that has a timeout for manual overrides or something?
binder
Posts: 2865
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: Android Reef Angel Status

Post by binder »

there's nothing built into the app that resets overrides. in fact, the only way to reset the override is by tapping on the green dot that only shows up when the port is overridden. the app just gets the values and displays them.
Meshmez
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 2:44 pm

Re: Android Reef Angel Status

Post by Meshmez »

Hmm. i wonder if my controller is resetting for some reason then. I never had trouble before the app update. and nothing else has changed. Ill check all my connections when im home. thanks.
binder
Posts: 2865
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: Android Reef Angel Status

Post by binder »

Meshmez wrote:Hmm. i wonder if my controller is resetting for some reason then. I never had trouble before the app update. and nothing else has changed. Ill check all my connections when im home. thanks.
Ok. I know I haven't changed any code with how the app communicates with the controller. I know I did move the code to a service and allow for automatically updating in the background instead of manual updates (or you can manually update it) but I do not recall off hand when I added that feature. It should not have affected the controller though.
Anyways, keep an eye on how things are working. There could be something else going on that we need to track down.
topjimmy
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 8:16 am

Re: Android Reef Angel Status

Post by topjimmy »

How do I set up and "Away" profile? What IP do I use?
Image
Meshmez
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 2:44 pm

Re: Android Reef Angel Status

Post by Meshmez »

binder wrote:
Meshmez wrote:Hmm. i wonder if my controller is resetting for some reason then. I never had trouble before the app update. and nothing else has changed. Ill check all my connections when im home. thanks.
Ok. I know I haven't changed any code with how the app communicates with the controller. I know I did move the code to a service and allow for automatically updating in the background instead of manual updates (or you can manually update it) but I do not recall off hand when I added that feature. It should not have affected the controller though.
Anyways, keep an eye on how things are working. There could be something else going on that we need to track down.
The auto update was in the "old" app I had too and never caused any problem, though I used both in manual update mode. All my connections on the controller seem to be good. Ill start to keep a log of when it happens to see if it is at a set interval or not. Thanks for the help!
rimai
Posts: 12857
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Android Reef Angel Status

Post by rimai »

Hey Curt, revisiting the override capability, I added the stuff to the libraries and pushed under branch issue 73.
If you want to take a look and test it.
Also, the portal key authentication is also pushed under branch issue 71 if you want to test it too.
Roberto.
binder
Posts: 2865
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: Android Reef Angel Status

Post by binder »

rimai wrote:Hey Curt, revisiting the override capability, I added the stuff to the libraries and pushed under branch issue 73.
If you want to take a look and test it.
Also, the portal key authentication is also pushed under branch issue 71 if you want to test it too.
Ok. I will try to take a look at it this weekend. I already briefly looked at the portal key authentication that you posted sometime last week.
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5422
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Android Reef Angel Status

Post by lnevo »

Am I missing something in the Android app. Testing out this galaxy tab 2... I installed the reef angel app. Is there a place to control the relays? How do i get to it?
binder
Posts: 2865
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: Android Reef Angel Status

Post by binder »

lnevo wrote:Am I missing something in the Android app. Testing out this galaxy tab 2... I installed the reef angel app. Is there a place to control the relays? How do i get to it?
Swipe the screen to the left to reveal the other pages on the right. I need to improve the layout and show "tabs" to indicate that you have to swipe to reveal the additional pages.
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5422
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Android Reef Angel Status

Post by lnevo »

Got it! Thought i had tried that. Thanks!
binder
Posts: 2865
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: Android Reef Angel Status

Post by binder »

topjimmy wrote:How do I set up and "Away" profile? What IP do I use?
open up the settings page and input your ip address. since you probably just have a dynamic home ip address, what most people use is a free dynamic dns address for their network. using something like no-ip.com and running their application to automatically update their ip when/if it ever changes. also, you must open up port 2000 on your router to allow access to your network from the outside world. i know there are other topics on the forum that discuss this already.
binder
Posts: 2865
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: Android Reef Angel Status

Post by binder »

Just released the latest version of the app...v0.8.2. Here's the highlight of the release:
  • added ability to disable specific relays to prevent accidental toggling from the app (from triggerNZ)
    • default all relays are enabled
  • ability to reset disabled ports to defaults
  • added vortech popup menu, long press on the value to prompt for immediate value change
  • moved date and time tab from memory to commands page
  • code updates
Let me know how the vortech menu works for those who use it. If it works well, I can add in one for the others.
Meshmez
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 2:44 pm

Re: Android Reef Angel Status

Post by Meshmez »

Is there any way to add a "custom location" to the memory location drop down menu? (ie, not have to type in the number each time) also is there a way to delete unwanted items from that same drop down? i use like 2 of them and have to scroll through 50. not big issues, but if there is an easier way i would like to use it :)

Thanks!

P.S. the ability to disable toggling ports on the new update is great! I no longer have to worry about accidentally bumping my dosers on!
binder
Posts: 2865
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Post by binder »

Meshmez wrote:Is there any way to add a "custom location" to the memory location drop down menu? (ie, not have to type in the number each time) also is there a way to delete unwanted items from that same drop down? i use like 2 of them and have to scroll through 50. not big issues, but if there is an easier way i would like to use it :)

Thanks!

P.S. the ability to disable toggling ports on the new update is great! I no longer have to worry about accidentally bumping my dosers on!
there isn't currently a way to add a custom location but i have had the idea for this on my white board for a couple months now. I am now going to start working on implementing it. i just have to figure out a couple small things first, but it should be included in the next release.

glad you like the port toggle disabling. the idea and main code came from someone else and then I tweaked it to make it fully functional with the app.
rimai
Posts: 12857
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Android Reef Angel Status

Post by rimai »

Hey Curt,
I'd like to request the vortech page to be linked to the same EM bit as Radion.
I had to manually select the Vortech page to show up.
Also, bug report: app is crashing when I hit download labels :(
Roberto.
binder
Posts: 2865
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Post by binder »

rimai wrote:Hey Curt,
I'd like to request the vortech page to be linked to the same EM bit as Radion.
I had to manually select the Vortech page to show up.
Also, bug report: app is crashing when I hit download labels :(
oh. didn't know it wasn't auto updating.

hmmmm... i will have to look at the download labels function. i didn't change that code, so it could have been broken before.
binder
Posts: 2865
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: Android Reef Angel Status

Post by binder »

turns out, the download labels function was a problem in 0.8.1. It works just fine with my userid and your userid but when you use "reefangel", it gives an error. I'm tracking down the problem and I can confirm that it exists.
User avatar
cosmith71
Posts: 1432
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: Android Reef Angel Status

Post by cosmith71 »

Requests:

Ability to toggle "lights on"
Commands screen as a "swipe to" like status and main relay
Pretty graphical representations of DP: and AP: percentages. :)

Thanks,

--Colin
binder
Posts: 2865
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Post by binder »

cosmith71 wrote:Requests:

Ability to toggle "lights on"
Commands screen as a "swipe to" like status and main relay
Pretty graphical representations of DP: and AP: percentages. :)

Thanks,

--Colin
good requests.
what did you have in mind for the graphical representations? like a slider bar or something else?
I will have to check on the lights on toggle. I don't know off hand if this is even possible remotely.
i will also check on the swiping for the commands screen. i might be able to do this relatively easy now.
Post Reply