PWM expansion not working after using webwizard
-
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 3:47 pm
PWM expansion not working after using webwizard
I've traditionally used the arduino software to upload code to my RA+ and it's been years since I've touched the code. Recently my multi-water level sensor crapped out so I had to get a new one and re-calibrate it which meant uploading new code to to my RA with updated water levels. I copy-pasted my code into the web wizard and uploaded it and now I cant get the lights in my tank to turn on.
The relay ports powering the drivers are on and I can hear them click when I manually change the state of them.
When I look at the dimming expansion settings in the portal, they look correct The web chart indicates that something should be happening with the PWM channels http://forum.reefangel.com/status/chart ... lter=pwme2
But whats weird is when I look at the "PWM Expansion Module" section of the dashboard, it shows all channels are at 0% I've tried power cycling the dimmer module just in case something was up with it, but no dice.
Does anyone have any ideas whats going on?
The relay ports powering the drivers are on and I can hear them click when I manually change the state of them.
When I look at the dimming expansion settings in the portal, they look correct The web chart indicates that something should be happening with the PWM channels http://forum.reefangel.com/status/chart ... lter=pwme2
But whats weird is when I look at the "PWM Expansion Module" section of the dashboard, it shows all channels are at 0% I've tried power cycling the dimmer module just in case something was up with it, but no dice.
Does anyone have any ideas whats going on?
Re: PWM expansion not working after using webwizard
maybe the pwm module isn't being connected via the usb cable. try using a different port on the expansion hub and/or using a different usb cable. I've had issues with the connections on the usb hub at times and can only use certain ports now.
Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
-
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 3:47 pm
Re: PWM expansion not working after using webwizard
Thanks binder, I just tried that but no luck. I used a new USB cable as well as a couple different port on the expansion module but my lights are still off. Any idea why the dashboard would show all the channels at 0%? Is there any way for me to test the dimmer module?
Thanks!
Thanks!
Re: PWM expansion not working after using webwizard
Do you have any values for the PWM channels on the screen of RA?
I don't know if you can use DCPump and PWM at the same time. I think one overrides the other.
I don't know if you can use DCPump and PWM at the same time. I think one overrides the other.
Roberto.
-
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 3:47 pm
Re: PWM expansion not working after using webwizard
No, the RA actually shows 0% on the screen for all the dimming channels as well as for the DC Pump speed.
I tried commenting all the lines starting with ReefAngel.DCPump. and re-uploaded the code. Still seeing 0s across the board on the RA+ screen.
I'm sure its possible that in the years since I've messed with the code the libraries could have changed and made it not work, but the DC pump plus the PWM code was working together. I'll leave those DCPump lines commented out for now as I dont currently have the the wavemaker plugged into the RA.
I tried commenting all the lines starting with ReefAngel.DCPump. and re-uploaded the code. Still seeing 0s across the board on the RA+ screen.
I'm sure its possible that in the years since I've messed with the code the libraries could have changed and made it not work, but the DC pump plus the PWM code was working together. I'll leave those DCPump lines commented out for now as I dont currently have the the wavemaker plugged into the RA.
Last edited by smellsfishy on Thu Oct 22, 2020 2:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Re: PWM expansion not working after using webwizard
You may need to remove them from the code.
The way the features detecting system works is if it finds the keyword, it enables it even if it is commented.
The way the features detecting system works is if it finds the keyword, it enables it even if it is commented.
Roberto.
-
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 3:47 pm
Re: PWM expansion not working after using webwizard
Still no luck. I deleted all lines with DCPump, even the include line, uploaded the code, all channels still show 0. The DC Pump menu no longer shows on the RA+ display, which I guess is expected now.
- Attachments
-
- smellsfishy.rtf
- Removed DCpump from code
- (3.63 KiB) Downloaded 416 times
-
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 3:47 pm
Re: PWM expansion not working after using webwizard
I tried going into the internal memory settings in the portal, changing the values in the dimming expansion section and saving, just to see if that'd maybe get something to update. No luck there, still 0s showing up on the RA+ Dimming channels.
Here's what showed up on the portal after saving:
Saving Internal Memory...
Controller is running dev libraries v.1.1.3
Dimming Expansion Channel 0 Start % - OK
Dimming Expansion Channel 0 End % - OK
Dimming Expansion Channel 1 Start % - OK
Dimming Expansion Channel 1 End % - OK
Dimming Expansion Channel 2 Start % - OK
Dimming Expansion Channel 2 End % - OK
Dimming Expansion Channel 3 Start % - OK
Dimming Expansion Channel 3 End % - OK
Done.
Here's what showed up on the portal after saving:
Saving Internal Memory...
Controller is running dev libraries v.1.1.3
Dimming Expansion Channel 0 Start % - OK
Dimming Expansion Channel 0 End % - OK
Dimming Expansion Channel 1 Start % - OK
Dimming Expansion Channel 1 End % - OK
Dimming Expansion Channel 2 Start % - OK
Dimming Expansion Channel 2 End % - OK
Dimming Expansion Channel 3 Start % - OK
Dimming Expansion Channel 3 End % - OK
Done.
Re: PWM expansion not working after using webwizard
Does it work if you hard code the values?
Roberto.
-
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 3:47 pm
Re: PWM expansion not working after using webwizard
Yes, I replaced the PWM lines with the following:
ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel( 0,PWMSlope( 12,30,23,30,11,20,45,0 ) );
ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel( 1,PWMSlope( 12,0,23,55,11,66,30,0 ) );
ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel( 2,PWMSlope( 12,0,23,59,11,25,60,0 ) );
I uploaded the code, the lights came on and I see numbers by the 3 dimming channels.
ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel( 0,PWMSlope( 12,30,23,30,11,20,45,0 ) );
ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel( 1,PWMSlope( 12,0,23,55,11,66,30,0 ) );
ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel( 2,PWMSlope( 12,0,23,59,11,25,60,0 ) );
I uploaded the code, the lights came on and I see numbers by the 3 dimming channels.
-
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 3:47 pm
Re: PWM expansion not working after using webwizard
Just wondering if anyone has any idea why the internal memory wasn't working? It made it really easy to tweak the lights so ideally I'd switch it back to internal mem.
Thanks!
Thanks!
Re: PWM expansion not working after using webwizard
It is hard to troubleshoot internal memory because we can't see the values you have.
But try confirming that all values for the daylight are correct too.
The start and end time for the slope function is tied to the daylight schedule.
But try confirming that all values for the daylight are correct too.
The start and end time for the slope function is tied to the daylight schedule.
Roberto.