pH probe problem, bricked reef angel?

New members questions
Post Reply
grafxalien
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 1:44 pm

pH probe problem, bricked reef angel?

Post by grafxalien »

So I am finalizing all my code and i decided to test out the ph probe for the first time tonight. I unplugged the reef angel, plugged the ph probe in, then plugged the reef angel power back in. the screen instantly started flashing like crazy. I unplugged the reef angel and took of ph probe then plugged power back in. now the screen just displays some jibberish. I tried reloading my code onto the RA and it still just displays jibberish. Any ideas of what is going on? did the pH probe brick my reef angel?
rimai
Posts: 12857
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: pH probe problem, bricked reef angel?

Post by rimai »

Try loading this code and see if it solves it:

Code: Select all

#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <avr/pgmspace.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <Memory.h>

RA_NokiaLCD e;

void setup()
{
    e.Init();
    e.Clear(COLOR_WHITE,0,0,132,132);
    e.BacklightOn();
    InternalMemory.PHMax_write(830);
    InternalMemory.PHMin_write(540);
    e.DrawText(COLOR_BLACK, COLOR_WHITE, MENU_START_COL+20, MENU_START_ROW*3, "Memory Updated");
    e.DrawText(COLOR_BLACK, COLOR_WHITE, MENU_START_COL+25, MENU_START_ROW*6, "You can now");
    e.DrawText(COLOR_BLACK, COLOR_WHITE, MENU_START_COL+25, MENU_START_ROW*7, "upload your");
    e.DrawText(COLOR_BLACK, COLOR_WHITE, MENU_START_COL+33, MENU_START_ROW*8, "INO code");
}

void loop()
{
}
Roberto.
grafxalien
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 1:44 pm

Re: pH probe problem, bricked reef angel?

Post by grafxalien »

well, i reloaded internal memory and then my code and that seems to have the controller working again. however, I am now afraid to plug the ph probe in. any ideas what happened?
rimai
Posts: 12857
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: pH probe problem, bricked reef angel?

Post by rimai »

I think it was most likely because the pH calibration was never initialized.
Did you ever upload the code InitialInternalMemory from the example codes folder?
That's all the code above did.
Roberto.
grafxalien
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 1:44 pm

Re: pH probe problem, bricked reef angel?

Post by grafxalien »

i loaded that initialmem from the example code first thing and then later an internal mem from ragen
Post Reply