USB Port.

Basic / Standard Reef Angel hardware

Posts: 166
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 1:22 pm
PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2020 12:57 pm
I was wondering what I would need to do to add a USB port to my really!old relay box?If its possible. I had one done years ago by Roberto, but Hes the Man! I am down to my last relay box due to gravity and a overactive skimmer :( I dried out the other relay box but
its dead. Its power supply is soldiered in so I wont be changing it. The other 2 boxes I have they are changeable.But even with a new power supply they don't work.update: supplies are bad. I cant find them in the RA store anymore. model#2050.?
Thanks for any help.

Posts: 166
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 1:22 pm
PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2020 3:41 pm
Power supply is duel voltage output.12vdc 2a and 5vdc 2a.I just took burnt supply packs apart that I had. I've gone through 4 maybe over 10yrs in 3 different relay boxes.I dont run anything that draws more then 10amps. All seem to fail on the 12vdc side.Would running 2 separate supplies be any better? Maybe a 3A 12 vdc ?I know 3 cords to the relay box would be crazy ,but if it helps reducing possible future failure I could deal with it. Any thoughts ?

Posts: 12651
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2020 6:27 pm
Yeah, you can use any other 12V and 5V power supply.
Roberto.

Posts: 166
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 1:22 pm
PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2020 12:45 pm
Here are the 2 boards one with the usb added then other not. They look the same to me ,but Im not the expert. I see that one is PWM. ?
Also I noticed the white wire to the power supply goes to a different terminal in the box? I added the tape due to frayed wires.I added some extra soldier also.Should one be switched? Thanks again.
Attachments
IMG_3879.JPG
IMG_3879.JPG (31.22 KiB) Viewed 937 times
IMG_3876.JPG
IMG_3876.JPG (48.11 KiB) Viewed 937 times
IMG_3875.JPG
IMG_3875.JPG (46.15 KiB) Viewed 937 times

Posts: 166
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 1:22 pm
PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2020 12:45 pm
and
Attachments
IMG_3878.JPG
IMG_3878.JPG (29.52 KiB) Viewed 937 times

Posts: 12651
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2020 1:21 pm
You can try soldering the USB just like the same one that you already have.
Roberto.

Posts: 166
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 1:22 pm
PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2020 1:58 pm
Whats your take on the power supply wiring. I tend to want to switch it to the way the box without the USB is .Due to that box has never failed and the other one has twice. Any replacement power supply?I don't see them in the store.If so PM me. Thanks again.

Posts: 12651
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2020 2:02 pm
I don't carry them anymore, but any 12V and 5V would work for you.
Roberto.

Posts: 166
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 1:22 pm
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2020 11:56 am
Thanks for the help.I got the USB soldiered in and its works perfect.

Return to Standard

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron